Sunday, May 6, 2012
[Magic Card a Go Go] Order of the Sacred Torch
Paladins of the Order of the Sacred Torch possess the ability to dispel magic rather than turn undead. They can only use the ability to dispel a spell created by an evil caster or creature; any other attempt to use the ability automatically fails. The paladin uses his Charisma rather than Intelligence to determine if the ability was successful. Each use affects only one single spell or effect. If the use of the ability is unsuccessful, the paladin cannot use the ability on a spell cast by that same spell caster for a whole day. The paladin can also attempt to use this ability to counter spell a spell as it is being cast. He may only do so once per round; if he has already acted in the round, the attempt suffers a +3 to the CL. When used to counter a spell as it is being cast, the paladin suffers 1d6 points of damage per level of the spell being countered, whether or not the spell counter attempt was successful.
Magic Card a Go Go: Every day, or thereabouts, I'll look up a random Magic: The Gathering card or three on Gatherer and devise a background and some rules. Why? Mostly because it seems like fun. When it is no longer fun, then meh...